Congratulations to the 2017 Law Enforcement Award Winners

Thank you to everyone who joined us for our Law Enforcement Innovation Award Dinner.

Thank you to the eight applicants: A Way Out Program, Bannockburn Police Department, Buffalo Grove Police Department, Deerfield Police Department, Fox Lake Police Department, Hawthorn Woods Police Department, Lake Zurich Police Department and Waukegan Police Department.

Thank you to Liz Kelly, wife of fallen Illinois State Trooper, James Sauter, who discussed her experience and the impact The 100 Club has had on her life.

A Way Out Program took first place, as a law enforcement assisted pre-arrest diversion program. The program seeks to help people that are struggling with addiction that have determined that they are ready to access treatment. The idea is to help get people into treatment before they are arrested committing drug-related crimes in order to feed their addiction.
This program was implemented out of the Lake County Opioid Initiative and its creation and implementation was spearheaded by Mundelein Police Chief, Eric Guenther. At the time of the application, the police departments of Mundelein, Libertyville, Round Lake Park, Gurnee, Lake Forest, Grayslake and Round Lake Beach were all entry points into the program. Since application, additional police departments have joined this program.
Buffalo Grove Police Department took second place with the development of a Community Relations Unit, which is a multi-faceted program designed to engage individuals, families and businesses within the Village of Buffalo Grove. Each unit comprises two officers and a social worker.
 Fox Lake Police Department took third place as the first agency in Lake County to implement a comprehensive, cloud-based solution for capturing, storing, processing and analyzing citations, reports and personnel activity.
A very special thank you to the Lake County Municipal League Board for making this award program possible.

President: Glenn Ryback, Mayor of Wadsworth
Vice President: Terry Weppler, President of Libertyville
Secretary: Donny Schmit, Mayor of Fox Lake
Treasurer: Rich Hill, Mayor of Round Lake Beach

Director: Nandia Black, President of Kildeer
Director: Steve Henley, Mayor of Volo

Director: Maria Lasday, Village Manager of Bannockburn
Director: Dominic Marturano, Mayor of Lindenhurst
Director: Kathleen O’Hara, President of Lake Bluff
Immediate Past President: Joseph Mancino, Mayor of Hawthorn Woods

404 Not Found

404 Not Found